Service Recognition Pin

The Shepherd’s Center of Kernersville was founded on the dedication and commitment of volunteers who provide vital support to adults in this community who are aging or with disabilities. This service award pin recognizes exceptional service which benefits our community. Any volunteer demonstrating this extraordinary giving spirit may be nominated by a service recipient, another volunteer, board member, staff person, or anyone observing this exceptional service. Nominations should be submitted by March 1 or September 1 of the calendar year.


Spring 2016

Harold Blue
Ken Drewry
Tonya Stanley

Fall 2016

Emily Andrews
Eleanor Atkins

Spring 2017

Joan Brown
Elizabeth Fluck
Mary Spangler

Fall 2017

Lucretia (Lou) Arnold
John Lennon
Chris Turner

Sonny Simpson Service Award

Our volunteers are the backbone of this special organization. Without their dedication and hours of service many of the area older adults or persons with disabilities would not be able to make it to their medical appointments, talk with another individual for days at a time, receive respite care from the challenges of caring for a loved one day after day, have a Senior Enrichment Center where they can make new friends or participate in learning and activities, communicate with family and friends via email and Facebook, borrow medical equipment, have someone to assist with minor home repairs, have friendly visitors to come by, receive counseling, or participate in support groups. Our volunteers make this happen!

The Sonny Simpson Service Award was established to recognize the volunteers who go “over and beyond” what is expected. Sonny Simpson was one of our early volunteers who became our Handyperson Volunteer Coordinator. He was a shining example of servant leadership; therefore, when this award was established it was named after his dedication. Periodically volunteers are selected to have their name placed on the Sonny Simpson Service Award statue which is located by The Shepherd’s Center’s front door.

Current Recipients

Theodore Kerner
Richard Whitaker, MD
Marilyn Shafrath
Anna Marie Dean
Louise Sapp
R L Stanley
Curtis Campbell
Bill Radisch
Archie Thomas
Jim Waddell
Becky Groome

Irvin Grigg
Richard Hedgecock
Sarah Larrimore
Tom Lee
Elizabeth Norelius
Bobbie Wolfe
Henrietta Barrett
Max Coltrane
Bill Goode
Phyllis Lennon
Bob Lundergan

Becky Lewis
David Burns
Carolin Lowy
Barbara Sechrist
Janie Hayes
Carol Lackey
Joan Hope
Mary McClellan
Hazel Shamburger
Harold Rachel